Expressions vs substitutions (newbie question)

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
12 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Expressions vs substitutions (newbie question)

remerson
Hi,

I'm just starting out with Thymeleaf and I really like it, but I'm confused by an apparent issue around string substitution/interpolation.

This works:
  <p th:text="'Hello ' + ${name}">Hello prototype</p>
But this doesn't (it gives the error "Could not parse as expression"):
  <p th:text="Hello ${name}">Hello prototype</p>
So it looks like the value of the th:text attribute has to be an expression which evaluates to a string, instead of an actual string with possible substitutions/interpolations in it.  This seems strange, because the content of the 'p' element can't possibly be anything other than a string.

Furthermore, if the value of the th:text attribute is actually an expression, why is it necessary to say ${name} to refer to the variable called 'name'?  That variable should be in scope already, so why the curly brackets?

AFAIK the usual meaning of ${} is a substitution/interpolation which can appear anywhere in a string (e.g. in Maven, Spring etc).  Is it a different meaning in Thymeleaf, or is this a SpEL thing... or have I just totally misunderstood what's going on?  ;)

Thanks in advance for your help,
Richard
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Expressions vs substitutions (newbie question)

Zemi
Administrator
> So it looks like the value of the th:text attribute has to be an expression which evaluates to a string,
> instead of an actual string with possible substitutions/interpolations in it.

Yes, that's the way it works.

> This seems strange, because the content of the 'p' element can't possibly be anything other than a string.

If the content of the element is HTML instead of plain text, you have to use th:utext:

<p th:utext="${formattedHtml}">...</p>