classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
5 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Fields object functions (Spring)

meyertee
Hi,

I'm having a hard time getting the error messages function to work.

I'm validating the form-backing-bean with validator-annotations. The form-controller's BindingResult.hasErrors() returns true and the error messages are also set. But the #fields.hasErrors('*') function in the template always returns false and the messages are not set.. Is there anything I need to setup for this to work? Is there a problem when using annotations without custom validator?

I'm fairly new to both Spring and Thymeleaf, so please excuse me if the problem is obvious... Here's my controller method (which gets executed correctly):
@RequestMapping(value="/form", method=RequestMethod.POST)
public String post(@Valid FormData data, BindingResult result, Model model){
	model.addAttribute("data", data);
	System.out.println("Has errors="+result.hasErrors()); // Output: Has errors=true
	for (FieldError err:result.getFieldErrors()){
		System.out.println(err.getDefaultMessage()); // Output: must be greater than or equal to 10
	}
	if (result.hasErrors()){
		return "form";
	}
	return "redirect:/home";
}
This is my form backing bean with annotations as demoed here
import javax.validation.constraints.Min;
public class FormData {
	@Min(10)
	private int something;

public FormData() {}

public int getSomething() {
		return something;
	}

public void setSomething(int something) {
		this.something = something;
	}
}
And finally, this is what I have in my template file (form.html). The errors message never shows:
<form action="#" th:action="@{/form}" th:object="${data}" method="post">
    <div th:if="${#fields.hasErrors('*')}">errors</div>
    <input type="text" th:field="*{something}"/>
    <button type="submit">Submit</button>
</form>
Any help would be appreciated, I'm a bit stuck right now...
Best, Thomas.
Reply | Threaded
|