7 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Thymeleaf benchmark ?

Yapadesouci
Hi !

Thanks for this great template engine.
I want to know if there is somewhere a benchmark in order to see if it can be put in production.

Thanks in advance for your answer.
Continue !
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Thymeleaf benchmark ?

danielfernandez
Administrator
Hi.

We haven't prepared any "official" benchmarks yet, although of course an important amount of testing on performance has been done during development. Anyway, preparing "scientific" benchmarks certainly is in the TO-DO list.

Remember also that Thymeleaf includes a built-in slf4j logger called "org.thymeleaf.TemplateEngine.TIMER" that outputs the milliseconds taken for processing each template when in DEBUG mode. This will probably help you measure Thymeleaf's performance in your specific scenarios.

Regards,
Daniel.
Reply | Threaded
|

Yapadesouci
I have done a little benchmark. First of all I'm not an expert so it's possible I made a mistake. Don't hesitate to correct me.

I have implemented the same page in jsp and with thymeleaf. All is based on spring framework 3.0.6 so I used thymeleaf-spring. The test run on maven-jetty-plugin and there is no database access at all. The page has no include just few relative url implemented with c:url in jsp and th:src, th:href with thymeleaf.

The template cache is active on thymeleaf. Logger is put on WARN.

I used ab tools to bench with -n 5000 and -c 50 and run the test several times on my local machine.

The result is jsp can handle 3000 requests by second where thymeleaf handle 1200 requests by second.

I want to know if it's normal for you or if I'm doing something wrong.

Thanks in advance.
Reply | Threaded
|

danielfernandez
Administrator
Hi, thanks a lot for sharing your numbers.