classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
6 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

service method invocation

hammadafridi
Hello there,
I am new to thymeleaf and exploring if it is better to use it in the product i have been working on. At the moment I am using freemarker. The main question I have is that in freemarker template I use different application service that can used in my templating system by the user to get data from the db etc.

Freemarker provides TemplateModelMap that holds all the services that can be used in freemarker templates. I need to know is it possible to hook the services into thymeleaf templates so that I can call method directly from the template? If there is how ? If not what are the alternatives. Do you have any examples for doing this.

Your advice will be much appreciated.Thanks

Regards,
Hammad.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: service method invocation

Emanuel
Administrator
I don't know Freemarker that well, so apologies if I've misunderstood what you're trying to do.  What I read was 'can I call methods directly from the template', and I can think of 2 ways to do this:

1) Anything you add to the Spring model can be accessed from Thymeleaf, and using SpEL you can invoke methods on objects in the model, eg: ${modelObject.doSomeMethod(someParameters)}

2) You can create utility classes in a custom dialect which can be added to the Thymeleaf processing context (ie: they can be made available to all your templates) and can then do pretty much anything.  They're called 'expression objects' in Thymeleaf, and they sound similar to those services in the Freemarker TemplateModelMap you mentioned.

For examples of creating a custom dialect, see the Extending Thymeleaf doc (http://www.thymeleaf.org/doc/html/Extending-Thymeleaf.html), then for an example of creating an expression object to add to the dialect, I did something in a presentation recently with this code: